Happy 4th of July – Fireworks Free Family Fun

Posted on July 4, 2008. Filed under: Entertainment | Tags: , , , , , |

The town in which I live has a large outdoor concert venue. Every year, they have Independence Day fireworks. This year, James Gaffigan conducts as Radio Disney presents the 22nd Annual 4th of July Fireworks Spectacular featuring the San Francisco Symphony. Song selections will be from Apollo 13, Rocky, Superman, James Bond, Lincoln Portrait, and many more!

I haven’t been to the fireworks in a long time, but I am excited about going tonight. I went to see the ones on the pier in San Francisco with my sister about 8 years ago when she came out to visit. The fog over the Bay was so bad, the fireworks got lost in it. Fireworks and a SF symphony concert remind me of when I used to live in Boston and would go to the free fireworks at the Hatch Shell on the Esplanade along the Charles River synchronized with the Boston Pops.

I plan to park far enough away so that I don’t have to pay for the $10 for parking. The friend I am taking and I will get in a nice walk (which I will give myself credit for on FitDay.com, the free online Diet and Weight Loss traking system I blogged about yesterday).

By reading the free weekly town paper that gets delivered to my doorstep, I found a coupon for 2 free lawn tickets to the event for town residents. They haven’t offered that freebie in a few years. All I had to do was be one of the first 1000 people to clip the coupon and bring it to the ampitheater box office and show my drivers license and one additional proof of residency (a utilitiy bill, etc.). Additional tickets were available for purchase.

Many cities offer a free fireworks show to celebrate the 4th of July. Take advantage of the festivities. You’ll save money and be entertained on a grand scale.

Make it even more enjoyable by packing snacks and drinks to enjoy during the show while sitting on a picnic blanket. Happy 4th of July everyone!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

