How to Get Free Tickets to Obama’s Presidential Inauguration

Posted on November 12, 2008. Filed under: Travel & Leisure, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , |

Tickets to the 56th Inaugural Ceremonies will be provided free of charge and distributed through Members of the 111th Congress. The Joint Congressional Committee on Inaugural Ceremonies does not provide tickets to the public. Members of the public interested in attending the Inaugural Ceremonies should contact their Member of Congress or U.S. Senators to request tickets.

The public should also be aware that no website or other ticket outlet actually has inaugural swearing-in tickets to sell, regardless of what they may claim. Tickets will not be distributed to Congressional offices until the week before the inauguration and will require in-person pick-up.

“Any website or ticket broker claiming that they have inaugural tickets is simply not telling the truth,” said Howard Gantman, Staff Director for the Joint Congressional Committee on Inaugural Ceremonies. “Tickets for the swearing-in of President-elect are all provided through members of Congress, and the President-elect and Vice President-elect through the Presidential Inaugural Committee. We urge the public to view any offers of tickets for sale with great skepticism.”

Note: When I called the office of my local Congresswoman, I was told the tickets were not yet allocated (i.e., they don’t know how many they are getting or how many tickets per person or household) and that they would not know or distribute them until some time next month. I was told I would be notified either way, based on my email request –BudgetMaven

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “How to Get Free Tickets to Obama’s Presidential Inauguration”

RSS Feed for Living Well on a Budget Comments RSS Feed

I am a middle age woman who works in retail .I am in the am in the process of workin 6 day work weeks and 12 hour
and 12 hours days however I am thankful I have a
job. I have been a volunteer for President Elect
Barack Obama. I went out of State to volunteer

I had a fundraising goal threw his website and I ‘
I reached that. All things that was ask of me
from his campaign I did now it would be an honor
to be considered for a free ticket


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

